top of page
  • Writer's pictureuncorked

What make Bourbon, Bourbon?

It's the Rules

All Bourbon is Whiskey, but not all Whiskies are Bourbon.

In 1894 the U.S. Government established standards for Bourbon.

Bourbon Rules:

1. Must be made in the United States. No other country is allowed to label

their whiskey ‘bourbon.’

2. Must be aged in charred, new oak barrels

3. The whiskey cannot enter the barrel at more than 125 proof or less than

90 proof.

4. Must consist at least 51% corn.

5. Nothing can be added to the bourbon, except water

to lessen the proof.

Watch for more about Bourbon.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page